top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndy Campbell

Me, Myself, & I: An Interview with Minnesota Pete Campbell

Updated: Aug 27, 2022


Tell us a little bit about how the “band” Minnesota Pete Campbell came to be?

Well I’ve always wanted to do my own record. Just so happened the whole world shut down and with zero shows to be had the timing was perfect. Basically the record was made out of necessity of keeping me productive and sane during lockdown.


Talk a little about the process that went into writing and recording Me, Myself, and I.

The process of writing came super fast and easy. The songs basically wrote themselves. I’d come up with a riff and build from there. Almost everything started with a chorus melody or a drum line then off to the races! Recording went pretty smooth as well I think only because it was all on my own time frame…no deadline….which can be a curse as well lol.


What were some of your motivations behind writing this epic album?

I’d say it was definitely being completely shut off from music during that time. Not being able to play shows, go see shows, or even jam with buddies so i had to stay busy! My family was another huge motivation in everything I do as well.


What were some of the biggest challenges that you faced as a 1-man-band and 1-man-producer?

There are definitely some pros and cons to recording this way that's for sure. Some pros being the 100% creative and musical control I have. Another being I’m on my own watch so I can take the time to get what's in my head on a computer at 2am if I wanted…..which has happened many times lol. Some cons being It IS only me lol. It does get frustrating switching “hats” when it comes to being the artist, then engineer, then producer, then the mixing, ect. But the pros for sure outweigh the cons hands down!


Who are some of your musical influences that inspired this album?

On this record its kinda all over the map. I tried to take a little bit of everything and pay homage. Definitely some Lizzy, Priest, KISS, Allman Bros, and a bunch more. The goal was to make it sound like me and I think we did that.


What’s one thing you hope your listeners feel after experiencing this album?

I tried to write a song for everyone! Regardless of what kind of music you dig there should be a tune on here that you’ll enjoy. That was the goal anyway lol.


If people could only hear one song on this album that would best sum up who MPC is, which song would it be and why?

That's a tough one….like I said they all have their own little thing. I would say our 1st single “Starlight” is a pretty damn good representation of the album. These songs have become like kids to me so it's tough to pick your favorite lol


What’s your experience been working with CDG Music Collective?

Extremely exciting! CDG is another labor of love for me and I get to work with my brother Big Andy Campbell! We’ve only just begun!!!!


Do you have any other projects you're working on for fans of Minnesota Pete Campbell?

Like always there's a bunch lol. Totally excited for the debut BRATHAIR record to drop! Probably my favorite record I’ve ever been a part of. Wrapping up the writing for the last couple tunes for another CDG Artist called Rust Bucket! Super groovy fuzz rock the way it should be! Writing for the Axe Dragger EP, can’t wait for that! Tracking vocals here at Layla’s Lair this summer for the new Mighty Nimbus record which will kill all. Slowly gathering and mixing stuff for an official PENTAGRAM release on CDG as well as writing new solo material. Busy Busy Busy but Fun Fun Fun!


What’s next for MPC?

Well, like I said I've got enough work to last me for a while lol. In the writing stage for my next solo release tentatively called “Solid!” and it’s going just as fast as the first! It’ll be a more “back to roots” kinda record. Straight up rock n roll and cant wait to start demoing in the next couple weeks.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page